Posted in Humor, Meerkat Musings

Repeal the 19th? Yeah, Nah

Ladies and gentlemen, I don’t tend to put my more serious and thoughtful posts here, on the Nudge Wink Report – and don’t worry, that isn’t about to change!

Except, it kind of will, with this post. I’ll be combining humour with politk. Well, I’ll be trying to.

Twitter has recently had a trending hashtag. #Repealthe19th. If you don’t know what that is, it’s the amendment to the US Constitution that granted women the right to vote. Why is a hashtag about removing this right trending? Because someone did a poll somewhere that showed if women are allowed to vote, Hilary Clinton would become President. If women aren’t allowed to vote, Lucifer Trump becomes President.

timondubious

Yeah… nah.

Come on guys! Are we still at a point where we think more with our little brain than our big brain? (did I just admit mine was little?)

We aren’t voting along gender lines, surely? Well, as an Englishman, I’m not voting at all, but you know what I mean.

Yes, Hilary is a woman. No, she isn’t weaker than a man. She isn’t less intelligent than a man. She may well not be perfect – but news flash – nor is Trump!!! Guess what – one of  them has years of experience in politics – the other has presided (ha!) over several failed businesses. Who cares what’s between their legs? Is that actually relevant???

And breathe. This ‘kat is getting angry.

But lets face it. This hashtag isn’t trending because of anything other than misogyny. Yup, I went there. It’s because there are plenty of men out there who hate the idea of women being treated as equals, and the idea that a woman might be in the White House in a few months’ time makes them do this:

timonscared

BlogDramedy, I hope I haven’t stolen your thunder for Saturday, but this had to come out. Like when you’re desperate to pee, it had to happen. I was actually doing the toilet dance whilst writing this.

Author:

Self-professed sci-fi nut, massive Formula 1 fan and Nintendo junkie. Most importantly though, a proud father and devoted husband! Through my website, www.meerkatmusings.co.uk, I am to express myself. I hope to let people see who I am and where I stand. I am not afraid to say that I support the LBGTQ community in their fight for equality, that I oppose creationism being taught as a science, and that I believe religion should not interfere in affairs of state. One of my passions is Liverpool football club. It's not easy being a supporter, but I wouldn't change it. It's my hope to live to see the day we find alien life. That would be amazing! I am unashamedly a lover of both Indian and Chinese food, though sometimes you can't be a good old Sunday roast! If someone could arrange for me to meet Nigel Mansell, that would be great.

8 thoughts on “Repeal the 19th? Yeah, Nah

Nudge us with a comment

