Posted in Humor, Special Report

Two things that don’t make sense to me.

NUMBER 1

The following sign:

 smoke-free

On the outside of a hospital:

 hospital

Which is next to 3 of these:

 parking garage

Let me get this straight.  4 people smoking this

 cigarette

is worse than the equivalent of this?

 smog

I did my usual in-depth 1 minute search of the internet for the toxins in tobacco and came upon this website http://www.lung.org/stop-smoking/about-smoking/facts-figures/whats-in-a-cigarette.html

Note, class, that the list is in alphabetical order (You know me–I have to point out the most important things first):

 Here are a few of the chemicals in tobacco smoke, and other places they are found:

  • Acetone – found in nail polish remover
  • Acetic Acid – an ingredient in hair dye
  • Ammonia – a common household cleaner
  • Arsenic – used in rat poison
  • Benzene – found in rubber cement
  • Butane – used in lighter fluid
  • Cadmium – active component in battery acid
  • Carbon Monoxide – released in car exhaust fumes
  • Formaldehyde – embalming fluid
  • Hexamine – found in barbecue lighter fluid
  • Lead – used in batteries
  • Naphthalene – an ingredient in moth balls
  • Methanol – a main component in rocket fuel
  • Nicotine – used as insecticide
  • Tar – material for paving roads
  • Toluene – used to manufacture paint

Yummy.

Now I can go outside and have a cigarette!
Now I can go outside and have a cigarette!

So then if you have dyed hair, you’re wearing nail polish and you’re a maid/janitor for a funeral home who is cleaning around the coffins while applying bug spray as part of your job, that’s better than smoking cigarettes in front of a hospital with 3 parking garages?

Just so you know—I’m not a smoker, but I’ve had cars and husbands that were.

Next, I asked the same question about car exhaust (I simply exchanged “tobacco” for “car exhaust” in the search engine. I’m lazy like that) and the first thing to come up was this:  http://www.ehhi.org/reports/exhaust/summary.shtml

Carbon dioxide (CO2), considered the largest contributor to greenhouse climate change, accounts for more than 80 percent of U.S. greenhouse gas emissions. One-third of these emissions come from the transportation sector. Carbon dioxide emissions originate almost entirely from fossil fuel consumption, and two-thirds of U.S. fuel consumption is used for transportation.  

Since I don’t believe in global warming, I looked elsewhere.   I consulted a very reliable source:  Wikipedia. 

Included in their breakdown of funky things lurking in your vehicle exhaust are:

  • Hydrocarbons
  • Carbon Monoxide
  • Carbon Dioxide
  • Nitrogen
  • Nitrogen Oxides
  • Sulfur Dioxide

How many people smoking cigarettes in front of a hospital does it take to create that much poison?  Only the ones driving cars.

Ever since I read that an honor student was suspended from school for having aspirin in her purse, I’ve wondered, “Is common sense dead?”

Until I see this sign on a school:

no zero

I’m going to have to say a big, fat, YES.

…which leads me to…

 

NUMBER 2:

ZERO COMMON SENSE TOLERANCE

zerocommon

The following took all of 10 seconds to find on the internet:  http://www.suspensionstories.com/brain-dead/

Here are the first 12 headlines:

  • 5th grade student suspended over nasal spray
At least he wasn't trying to stick deodorant up his nose.
At least he wasn’t trying to stick deodorant up his nose.
  • 7th grader facing 180 day suspension for yawning and accidentally touching a teacher
  • Student Handcuffed and Arrested from School for Burping.
  • Students Suspended for Singing in Cafeteria
  • 9 year old suspended from school for sexual harassment after calling teacher cute
  • 12 year old boy suspended over bringing an inhaler to school
  • Special-ed student, 7, handcuffed by cops at Queens school after Easter egg tantrum
  • Student Arrested Over Spilled Milk
  • Kindergartener Gets Suspended for Crying
  • 11 Year Old Arrested For Drawing a Violent Stick Figure At School
  • In Fairfax Schools, Acne Drugs Can Get You Suspended.
  • Student suspended for politely holding the door open for someone else
intolerate
Except if you’re school personnel or a politician.

   Yes, I remember a time when

  • friends took their pickups to school with guns on the gun racks.
  • You could pay cash for a plane ticket and walk straight to the gate with your family without being felt up.
  • The police didn’t have riot gear and tanks shouting, “Resistance is futile.”
7 of 9
Thank you 7 of 9 for turning a generation of men into zombies.
  • We could hang our feet out the back of the station wagon and our parents wouldn’t be hauled off to jail.
  • No one reported people for taking pictures of a naked infant, and
  • Your teacher borrowed your Swiss army knife to peel the apple you just gave her.

Miracle of miracles that I’m still alive!  I wonder how that happened? 

Maybe it’s because we don’t need all those F*&%^#@ restrictions?

In fact,  so many of us boomers are alive today the only way you’re going to pay out all that social security to the ones retiring is by printing bogus currency.  

Put that in a zero tolerance graphic novel primer for high school and smoke it.

Okay!  So there’s more than 2 things that don’t make sense to me.  

Author:

Crabby person who likes to rant. Reading it is free so remember-- you get what you pay for. Well endowed with the multi-layered weirdness that lurks inside a not-quite-right-mind. That's how I write SciFi. Crabby, weird, and to make matters worse, I write poetry. Some of it is even...shudder...nice. I feel like a sandwich that went on a journey of self-discovery just to find I was pastrami with Maraschino Cherries, hot peppers, the contents of an MRE and broccoli on gluten free cheese bread. After that kind of trauma no 'wich is the same again.

35 thoughts on “Two things that don’t make sense to me.

    1. Unless I can have things to bother me that are petty and insignificant, I won’t be happy. I just HAVE to fret over what I want to eat for breakfast. But, “Am I going to eat today?” That just won’t do. Complaining takes a lot of energy. 🙂

      Like

        1. What would the world be without something to complain about? If life were that easy we’d still have oceans without oil spills and radiation, instead of cars and nuclear power plants. Life without common sense is so….what’s the word I’m looking for.. 🙂

          Like

  1. Reblogged this on Blogdramedy and commented:

    Today on NWR, Floridaborne talks sense. Who’s got it and who hasn’t. She used remarkable restraint at only listing two things that don’t make sense. Staff at The Nudge Wink Report are all astonishment. *wink* Check it out and see if her post makes sense.

    Like

  2. The reason they don’t want people smoking outside a hospital is because of the oxygen tanks. Cigarettes can cause them to explode and it would kind of suck to be resting in a hospital and engulfed in a plume of fire.

    Like

    1. If a person’s oxygen tank is leaking that much, they have more to worry about than a cigarette or static electricity causing an inferno. 🙂

      I also saw one of those no-smoking signs on a parking garage–as I’m coughing at the fumes coming from the cars as I walk out. It seems sensible to have an area 50 feet away from the hospital where people can smoke. Many have to stand on the sidewalks to do it.

      Ironically, people who are now over 65 were told that smoking was good for your health. Many didn’t smoke until their doctor’s recommended it. One of the many reasons I don’t spell Doctor G-O-D.

      Like

  3. Re: Point #1 – Perhaps we should look at it differently. If one is already swimming in a sea of toxins, perhaps voluntarily signing up for even more might not be the best idea? I think your point about hospitals is spot on. Since becoming “tobacco free zones” we see huge groups of hospital employees cuddled together over on the property line working hard to become future customers of their employer. 🙂

    Those zero tolerance headlines are a trip. Too bad you couldn’t figure out a way to combine the ones about spilled milk and crying. Something tells me that would be worth pursuing… 🙂

    Like

    1. I thought that crying and spilled milk was prophetic, too. A person can slip on a banana peel or fall down the stairs and break his neck. Where are the “No banana peel” zones? In fact, vehicles kill more people than anything else. We don’t see mobs of people yelling about banning cars. 🙂

      Like

      1. Are you kidding? I’m always yelling about banning cars! “Psst! Hey, buddy. Wanna buy a transportation system? It only kills about 30,000 people per year. That’s considered pretty good!”

        Like

  4. Good gripes! The thing that gets me is that smoking is legal. If it is going to be banned everywhere, if smokers are looked down on more than ax murderers, why not outlaw the practice? One word: taxes. Smokers and the exorbitant taxes they pay are the people our governments love to hate.

    Like

    1. I think a lot of this is backlash that started in the early 1970’s. Ask a smoker not to smoke, and he’d blow it in your face after uttering a string of insults.

      Smokers had zero tolerance for non-smokers, now it’s the other way around. I don’t believe either side is correct to be so intolerant.

      I suppose it could get worse. In 17th century Turkey, people were beheaded for selling/smoking tobacco. That was the fatal version of “Smoke free zone.”

      Like

  5. At first, the zero tolerance policy in US schools made no sense to me. But after checking comments a little further it did. This what frivolous lawsuits(FL) have turned America into. What if the child who called teacher cute later went and hugged the teacher? A parent following a FL claim could say that the teacher encouraged sexual activity in the child despite early warning signs. The schools cant afford to pay out for these claims. Try to see it from both sides.

    Like

      1. True enough. Based on your post however I ended up reading on the famous hot coffee case and it may not always be frivolous. I saw a picture of the damage done to the woman and it was horrifying(don’t know if pic was fake). She just asked for medical expenses initially. But, also this seems to be a case of less people willing to be responsible for their own actions anymore. McDonalds didn’t spill the coffee on her, she did it accidentally. The idea seems to be if you can blame someone else for your actions and make a quick buck at it, go ahead!

        Like

        1. From what I read about the McD lawsuit, the lid wasn’t on properly and the coffee was kept much hotter than necessary. On the other side of the lawsuit problem, if your child has a reaction to a vaccine (such as death), you can’t even go to court. You have to go to an “administrative hearing” which circumvents the court system. It’s the same concept when you get a “fine” because someone decided you didn’t stop long enough when you went through a redlight. You don’t go through the courts and the people in charge of the administrative hearing are the ones who issued the fine in the first place. The whole thing is fubarred.

          Like

  6. Reblogged this on Unravelling The Knots and commented:
    Okay so this just made me laugh my head off and simultaneously put me off smoking. I really do try ignore reading about how bad cigarettes are and how they are blamed for the majority of health issues.
    If I could get a rand for every time I heard: “You know, you really shouldn’t do that. I hear that cigarettes are a leading cause of…cancer/stomach ulcers/asthma/headaches/ingrown toenails/etc.”
    Because non smokers just loooove to remind me how I am slowly killing myself. And they mostly do this whilst shoving a MacCarcinogen burger down their throats or throwing back 5 shots of tequila chased with a bottle of rum and coke mix. Yes. I’m the only one sacrificing my health, thank you for your concern.

    I may need to give up this smoking thing. And re-look at taking my lighter out with me in case I get locked up. Zero tolerance and all that.

    Like

    1. My sis-in-law smoked until she was in her 70’s. George Burns smoked cigars and was over 100 when he died. Cancer, in general, is more prevalent now than ever. I tend to think it has more to do with environmental factors caused by corporations and not individuals with tobacco products. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Nudge us with a comment

