Posted in Guest Contributor, Humor, Uncategorized

Olympic Cat Petting, Marathon Dog Staring, Extreme Editing and Horsing Around

DSC_0064
Roxton Pond, the birthplace of my maternal grandfather. A 30 minute drive from Bromont.

I’d like to take a poll…ask a question…get an answer…

~<~>~<~>~<~>~<~>~<~>~<~>~<~>~<~> ~<~>~<~>~<~>~<~

I’ve asked this before and by George I’m going to ask it again:

1. How many other bloggers are crazy enough to fly to another country to meet another blogger?

2. How many other bloggers out there would provide that crazy person with a guest room once they arrive?

~<~>~<~>~<~>~<~>~<~>~<~>~<~>~<~> ~<~>~<~>~<~>~<~

I don’t know many people who would give me a room with a view and drive me to my grandfather’s birthplace to romp through a graveyard, but that might be one of the many reasons that this particular blogger and his soul mate would put up with me.

As FloridaBorne, I write poetry for TV (Tom) Kapherr’s amazing pictures of Cats At The Bar.  

As Joelle LeGendre, book author (who also happens to be dyslexic, etc.)  the need for a 5-star editor is mandatory.    

The purpose of my visit was extreme editing, Olympic cat petting, and getting to know the family behind the cat pictures.I was a bit reluctant at first, since they live in a foreign country, but I enlisted the help of my fellow blogger, Vickie, to lead me through the airports since she’d lived in Canada for over 30 years and spoke Canadian quite well.

Ø

First, let me get this out of the way.  There are a couple of things I don’t understand about Canada.  In the US, a pond is a small body of water.  It’s small enough to throw a baseball across.  But in Canada, THIS is a pond:

DSC_0068
I supposed that if you were comparing Roxton Pond to lake Huron….

I know–the difference between Canada and the USA isn’t like traveling to Russia or China. However, when

  • you’re trying to find which aisle the grits are hiding on (Grits? What grits?),
  • the labels are in French,
  • everyone around you is speaking French, and
  • you’re standing in an IGA,

newsflash: You’re in a foreign country.

Ø

guest window
View from the guest room. When I was using my laptop. The sunsets at 10pm are gorgeous. It’s the 4:30am sunrise that’s the killer.

 

Looking out at the view from a guest room window there are sturdy maples, the edge of a spruce, a moss-carpeted walkway, white lamp posts, a well manicured lawn and in the distance is the soft curve of a gently sloping mountain.  Between the mountain and me is a highway.  Once in a while, 10 or more bicycles whiz by, startling me for a moment.  That’s because where I live there’s no such thing as a bike path.  If there were, it would be called the suicide lane.  

Okay, so I was in Canada, but where exactly, north of the 48 states was that? Bromont, Quebec, where you can watch fine specimens of spandex-clad bicyclists whiz by on the main highway outside the guest room window for the 2 months out of the year when it isn’t freezing.

the-united-states-of-america-map
Will there ever be a bike path from Florida to Canada. If so, will that be the next segment of Survivor?

“Only 2 months?” you might ask. Remember that, for a Floridian, anything under 70 degrees Fahrenheit is freezing. In fact, one of the pronouncements I heard repeatedly as my hosts sat in sleeveless shirts, shorts and sandals was, “How can you wear a sweater in this weather?”

clothes
“You’re wearing more clothes than I am!”

Yes, I was huddling in the sun wearing a turtle neck, a fleece hoodie, jeans, socks and shoes and shivering my buns off the first day I was there. I believe the high that day was 71 degrees Fahrenheit.

dsc_0126_11
Credits: From http://backhomeinbromont.wordpress.com/2014/06/11/jessica-phoenix-of-canada-wins-cci-three-star-three-day-equestrian-event-in-bromont-quebec/

You might think I was cruel, dragging Vickie along only to have her sit around for 2 weeks and do nothing. But if you believe she’s the type who sits around and does nothing, you don’t know Vickie very well.

Who, besides a seasoned horse woman, would know that Bromont is horse-central? The day Vickie went with our host to meet a neighbor, Roger Deslaurier, she learned that he manages the Olympic Equestrian Park where the Bromont Horse Trials were about to begin.

That’s when Vickie, the radio show host, went into high gear, interviewed equestrians, filmed horses jumping over coffins, and dragged Tom around the cross country course as he carried the camera equipment and tried to keep up with her.

packmule
TV Kapherr, pack mule extraordinaire!

They had press passes and everything!

After the show weekend she took a bus to visit friends and horse farms in Ottawa, then returned to Bromont 3 days later to film an interview at another horse show.

editngoutside
Intently listening as EJ Geras reads my own book back to me, suggesting changes.

My purpose was much more sedentary, I sat with EJ Geras outside or at the dining room table, listening as she read my book to me. She suggested edits and we talked about how to proceed.

As I mentioned earlier, I’m 1/2 blind and I’m dyslexic. To hand me 400 pages of chaos, including editing squiggles, is like handing a computer complete with a user manual to a new tribe of indigenous people you just discovered in the Amazon and expecting them to make any meaningful use out of it.

Shilo and Vice
Olympic cat petting and marathon dog staring.

Additionally, seeing pictures of their cats–and Shilo the cat-dog–is nothing like being with them and watching them in action.

Take, for instance, the hours of fun several of the kittens enjoyed, batting a mouse carcass around, stealing it from one another, and taking a few chunks out of it here and there. That’s one good thing about having 25 cats–no mouse problems. Another is the great stories that can be made from it starting with

http://catsatthebar.org/2014/06/11/death-becomes-you-part-1-the-discovery.

Would I do it again? I plan to. After all, the cheese in Quebec is the best I’ve eaten in years, and to my surprise I was invited back for another extended stay.  Once I get over that shock, I’ll plan trip number 2. I don’t know in which century it’s going to occur, but…

But for right now, I’m still having an anxiety attack over missing the plane back home. How I managed that anxiety attack (or didn’t) is best left for another post.

Author:

Crabby person who likes to rant. Reading it is free so remember-- you get what you pay for. Well endowed with the multi-layered weirdness that lurks inside a not-quite-right-mind. That's how I write SciFi. Crabby, weird, and to make matters worse, I write poetry. Some of it is even...shudder...nice. I feel like a sandwich that went on a journey of self-discovery just to find I was pastrami with Maraschino Cherries, hot peppers, the contents of an MRE and broccoli on gluten free cheese bread. After that kind of trauma no 'wich is the same again.

26 thoughts on “Olympic Cat Petting, Marathon Dog Staring, Extreme Editing and Horsing Around

  1. Reblogged this on Blogdramedy and commented:

    NWR Special Assignment Reporter FloridaBorne heads north to Canada and falls in love with a chunk of cheese. And horses. And cats. Head over to The Nudge Wink Report for the full…report.

    Like

  2. Travel is broadening…to the mind and the body. Especially if you fall in love with foreign cheese.

    We’re going to start to refer to you as the NWR Adventure Reporter. Wild times, girl. Wild times. *grin*

    Like

    1. I second the NWR Adventure Reporter. Excellent report and I must travel to Canada now… for the cheese alone.
      Is an Adventure Reporter in the budget?

      Like

    2. You should have seen me traveling through France and Switzerland. All those pictures I took were under the heading of, “Oh, look. I think I’ll take a picture of that green splotch in front of me.”

      Like

  3. Yes the cheese is good. But next time your going to take the big culinary plunge and try Poutine! Your next trip will probably be a touch cooler here, and we will have moved to long sleeve T-shirts, I will dig out my snowmobile suit for you to wear. (Good for up to -40) 😉 As for missing your flight back, I’m sorry but as we say here in Quebec, “It is, what it is.” , “Time for a drink!”

    Like

    1. Sangria for the non-drinker would be sufficient. I can’t do anything about the way my body responds to abject terror. 🙂
      I’ll probably take you up on the snowmobile suit. I received my degree from a university in the upper midwest and wore a snowsuit in the winter, so I’m used to doing that. Thanks for putting up with this eccentric writer/blogger/weirdo.

      Like

  4. I say everyone should come to Canada and try our cheese. We have some pretty great wine to go with that too. You really should return to Canada and try to see a wee bit more of it. An extra sweater is always advisable, though.

    Like

Nudge us with a comment

