Posted in Blurt

All The Cool Kids Are Doing It

The theme of the news this week is “everybody does it”.

Nebraska – it’s not just a great Springsteen album. (wikimedia commons)

A toddler in Omaha, Nebraska was seen in a video, cursing in response to cues from equally vulgar young adults. The video has gone viral; child welfare authorities took the little boy and his young mother into custody out of concern for both their well beings.

The mom’s response to all the hub-bub about the reason for her two-year-old’s sudden rise to fame? “Kids curse; every kid does it”. She also went on to point out that the little boy had on a clean diaper at the time and that he was cursing because someone else, who was in the room with the boy when she wasn’t, told him to do it. “My son doesn’t do it” she said “I don’t allow it.”

Ok, mom, here’s the thing. A clean diaper obviously does nothing to protect your son from the type of clowns you allow him to be around. And while your everybody does it defense has some merit, the fact is that everyone doesn’t do it when they’re two.

Two year olds are just developing their ability to communicate. They’re learning to do things like name the parts of their bodies. The average length of their sentences is 1.2 words. Most of all, they don’t learn to curse the first time you leave them in a room with some goofball or a recording of George Carlin’s “7 dirty words” routine.

That little boy is a mess because of you, not because “every kid does it”.

Big Fish (public domain)

And now we go to another part of the country to check in on Governor Chris Christie. The news broke this week that members of the governor’s staff were involved in restricting traffic on the George Washington Bridge between Fort Lee, New Jersey and New York City. Why would they do such a thing? Because the mayor of Fort Lee refused to endorse Christie’s re-election.

Christie says he didn’t know that his staff had been involved in this kind of dirty dealing. I guess he was in another room.

See Gov, here’s the thing. My dad always taught me that a fish rots from the head down. I’m certain you’re familiar with the fish metaphor. In fact, I’m certain that you’ve used some form of the concept to hack away at your political opposites…just as they’re doing to you now.

I don’t know if that’s actually the order a dead fish rots in, but the metaphor stands true. People will be corrupt and nasty in direct proportion to the corrupt and nasty quotient of their leaders. In the words of our young mother “every kid does it”.

And when we’re talking politics in your state, we do know that every kid does it. If you’re the kid who doesn’t, it’s your responsibility to make sure your friends don’t either. You’ve failed in that respect. As such, you and the young mother in Omaha are on the same plane.

I’m not sure which of you should be more offended by that.

Author:

Most who read my blog don't know me from the man in the moon. But they seem nice and I am, in fact, The Man In The Moon.

11 thoughts on “All The Cool Kids Are Doing It

  1. Somehow I missed the foul mouthed toddler (lucky me). Living in the Garden State, I’ve had no such luck in missing the governor. He’s been beating the crap out of his opponents, including the unions which represent the teachers, firefighters, police and public employees. When a teacher asked him at a public appearance why he was attacking her profession, Christie stopped everything and screamed at her “You people! Just do your job!” Perhaps his majesty should take a look at what HIS job entails, including appointing and ultimately being responsible for his staff and their actions. I’m too furious and frankly more than a little frightened of his bullying to write the blog post I should about him. Thanks for your post.

    Like

  2. Somehow restricting traffic doesn’t seem to be such a big deal. I’m afraid I don’t know much about this story so I will have to go read about it to find out why it is such a no-no. Retribution with politicians against people who didn’t support their election is of course abuse of power and as the mom said, “they all do it”. Doesn’t make it right but it seems the norm. Either way the guy smells fishy to me.

    Like

  3. I have yet to be able to watch the video of the little “thug.” I just can’t tolerate another image of really awful parenting. It gives me such pains and makes me fear for the future of this planet. And people like Christie, who are public figures influencing and roll modeling behavior for our youth, fill me with even more dread. I can only hope that people will no longer tolerate the lousy behavior of politicians who think they’re above us all. I’m pretty certain that even a 10 year old would doubt Christie’s explanation. I so very hope that the adults who have a chance to vote for him develop some skepticism.

    Like

  4. I’m late getting to read this post but good job, Oma. I recently drove through the Garden State on my way down to Georgia. Pretty state and some nice people. Too bad about their Governor.

    Like

  5. Brilliant. But methinks there is a problem. There’s only so much wiggle room in a society. If we start taking children away from bad parents soon they’ll have to start pawning those kids off on the rest of us, namely those with intelligence enough to not have kids (or have previously lived through that disgusting phase).

    I never thought of Chris Christie as a fish before. I’ll skip the obvious joke. I do agree with your logic, though. The inference is that he must have known. Occam’s razor and all that. If you think about what would be required for Christie not to have known you’ve quickly constructed a world more complicated than what came out of George Lucas’ brain.

    Therefore is it reasonable to assume he’s lying. I can’t know for sure, but I’m quite willing to out on a limb at least that far.

    Like

Nudge us with a comment

